Comparison · checked November 2, 2026

The best keyboard sound app for Mac, compared by what you need

18 Mac keyboard sound apps side by side: price, trial, which Macs they run on, whether the sound follows your typing force, and what each one sends online. Facts about other apps come from their makers' own pages, with quotes and sources at the end.

Updated

Short answer: it depends on your Mac. If you want the sound to follow how hard you type, three of the 18 apps here read the MacBook motion sensor: Haptyk ($8, MacBooks with the sensor only), Keyslam ($3.99; macOS 13 or later, and it also runs on Macs without the sensor) and the free Clank Keys (Apple silicon, not notarized). If you'd rather buy on the Mac App Store, Klack, Thock (App Store) and Keeby are $4.99 and TypeLouder is $2.99. Free and open source: Mechvibes, Thock (open source) and Keyboard Sounds Pro, plus KeyEcho, which is free with paid packs. The two Thocks are unrelated apps; see which Thock app for Mac is which.

We make Keyslam. Every fact about another app on this page comes from the maker's own site, its App Store or Setapp listing, its GitHub page or Homebrew, checked , and the numbered notes quote it word for word. Where another app suits you better, we say so. Spot a mistake? Tell us and we'll fix it and log it below.

Pick by what matters to you

If you wantLook atKeep in mind
Force sensingKeyslam ($3.99), Haptyk ($8), Clank Keys (free)Haptyk runs only on MacBooks with the sensor. Clank Keys needs Apple silicon and a Terminal command at first launch. Keyslam plays a strength you pick where there's no sensor. Keyslam vs Haptyk, in detail.
Mac App StoreKlack, Thock (App Store), Keeby and FunKey ($4.99), TypeLouder ($2.99)Klack needs macOS 15 and TypeLouder 15.5. Klack's App Store and website versions are separate purchases. How Keyslam compares with Klack.
An Intel MacKeyslam, TapNoise, Klakk, KeyEcho, Keyboard Sounds ProHaptyk, Clank Keys and Mechvibes 3 don't run on Intel. Keyboard sounds on Intel Macs, iMac and Mac mini.
macOS 13 VenturaKeyslam, Haptyk, Clank Keys, Thock (App Store), Keeby, FunKey, CupertinoClicks and KachunkThe table under “Will it run on my Mac?” lists the oldest macOS each app supports.
TypewritersKeyslam (IBM Selectric II, Olivetti Lettera 22), Kachunk (Underwood, Olivetti), KeyClickerKachunk's Underwood 1938 is in its free tier. Typewriter sounds for Mac.
Most packsMechvibes: 985 community pack pages; KeyEcho: 71; Kachunk: 26; FunKey: 25+; Thock (App Store): 22Mechvibes' Mac build is experimental. Keyslam has 15, each named and credited.
Free or open sourceMechvibes, KeyEcho, Thock (open source), Keyboard Sounds Pro; Clank Keys is free but closed sourceWhat free gets you with each one.
Windows or Linux tooKeyEcho, Mechvibes, Keyboard Sounds Pro; Klakk and Keeby on WindowsKlakk and Keeby sell each platform's edition separately.
ExtrasTapNoise (Tappy desktop companion, sounds for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor), Keeby (notch visualizer), KeyClicker (shows shortcuts on screen)TapNoise has no trial. Keyslam vs TapNoise.
Goes quiet by itselfKeyslam pauses while any app uses the microphone (on by default); Klack has sleep triggers for screen sharing, Focus, media and calendar; Tacque pauses during calls and media, per Setapp; Thock (open source) mutes while music plays; Kachunk has a per-app silence listKeyslam, Klack, Thock (App Store) and Kachunk also have a shortcut to switch sounds off; Keyslam's default is ⌃⌥⌘K.

Which Mac keyboard sound apps react to how hard you type?

Several Mac apps react to typing force: Haptyk ($8, MacBooks with the sensor only), Keyslam ($3.99) and Clank Keys (free) read the MacBook accelerometer, and TapNoise varies volume from an estimate of typing movement. Thock (App Store) calls its packs “velocity aware” without saying how. The other 13 apps in this comparison don't advertise anything like it.

Haptyk's home page still presents it as the one app where “the sound follows how hard you press”1. Clank Keys does the same for free, and has since September 13, 2026, when its first public build came out2.

AppWhat it readsWhat changes with forceRuns without the sensor?Price (US)
KeyslamThe accelerometer, about 800 readings a secondPicks and blends real strikes from four bands, sorted by natural loudness from one recordingYes, at a strength you pick$3.99
HaptykThe MacBook accelerometer“4 levels, soft to slam”3No: Macs without the sensor get an “Incompatible Mac” notice4$8
Clank KeysThe MacBook accelerometer“plays a real switch recording that matches how hard you hit the key”5Yes, “varied by typing rhythm”6; Apple silicon onlyFree
TapNoiseA movement estimateVolume. Its blog: “an estimate from body movement, not a force sensor”7Yes; the pressure features need a sensor MacBook8$14.99 ($5.99 launch price)
Thock (App Store)Not describedIts site calls the packs “velocity aware”9 without saying howYes$4.99

Two caveats apply to the three apps that read the sensor. Force sensing needs a MacBook with Apple's motion sensor: MacBook Pro with M1 Pro or M1 Max and later, and MacBook Air and MacBook Pro with M2 and later. See which MacBooks have an accelerometer for the full model list. And Haptyk's refund page says the sensor interface “is not officially supported by Apple and may change or become unavailable in future macOS updates”10. Keyslam reads the same sensor through IOKit, so that caution applies to it too. How Keyslam turns a jolt into a band is on the force sensing page.

Will it run on my Mac?

Two things decide it: whether your Mac has the motion sensor, and which macOS it runs. “Apple silicon, no sensor” means the M1 MacBook Air, the 13-inch M1 MacBook Pro, and every iMac, Mac mini, Mac Studio and Mac Pro with Apple silicon. Where a maker lists only a macOS version, we show the app as running on any Mac with that version.

Your MacFollows typing forcePlays soundsWon't runMaker doesn't say
MacBook with the sensorKeyslam, Haptyk, Clank Keys; TapNoise varies volume from a movement estimateAll the othersNoneNone
Apple silicon, no sensorNoneKeyslam (strength you pick), Clank Keys (varied by rhythm), Mechvibes (experimental build) and all the other apps hereHaptykNone
Intel MacNoneKeyslam, TapNoise, Klakk, KeyEcho and Keyboard Sounds ProHaptyk, Clank Keys and Mechvibes (GitHub issue 128 says an Intel build of Mechvibes is merged for the next release)Klack, Thock (App Store), Keeby, TypeLouder, FunKey, CupertinoClicks, Kachunk, Tacque, KeyClicker and Thock (open source)

Haptyk: “The M1 MacBook Air, the 13″ M1 MacBook Pro, Intel Macs and desktop Macs do not have it”11. Mechvibes: “Intel Macs are not supported yet”12. Clank Keys: “macOS 13 or later, Apple Silicon (M1 or newer)”13.

Oldest macOS each app supports

Oldest macOSApps
macOS 13 VenturaKeyslam, Haptyk, Clank Keys, Thock (App Store), Keeby, FunKey, CupertinoClicks and Kachunk
macOS 13.5Thock (open source)
macOS 14 SonomaTapNoise, Klakk and KeyClicker
macOS 15 SequoiaKlack and Tacque
macOS 15.5TypeLouder
Not stated by the makerKeyEcho, Mechvibes and Keyboard Sounds Pro

Klack's figure is for its App Store version14; TypeLouder's is from its App Store listing15.

Price, trial and license

AppPrice (US)Free trialMacs per licenseRefund
Keyslam$3.99 once, lifetime7 days, everything unlocked, no account or cardAll the Macs you own14 days
Haptyk$8 one-time3 days; an email and a 6-digit code; “One trial per Mac”16, 17Up to 3 devices you own14 days for a technical fault on its side, a missing sensor the trial didn't flag, or a duplicate purchase18; its home page says “no questions asked”19
Clank KeysFreeNot neededNo licenseNot applicable
TapNoise$14.99 for 1 Mac, $20.99 for 2; $5.99 and $7.99 launch prices when we checked20, ending by November 15, 2026None since version 0.2.5211 Mac (Solo) or 2 (Duo)7 days, no reason needed
Klack$4.99 on the App Store; a separate standalone on tryklack.comNone; preview each switch on its site22Up to 5 devices14 days; App Store refunds go through Apple
Thock (App Store)$4.99None mentionedFamily Sharing (App Store)Not stated
Keeby$4.99 on the App Store; also sold directNone mentionedDirect Mac license: 2 MacsNot stated
TypeLouder$2.99None in the app; a free sound test on its siteFamily Sharing (App Store)Not stated
FunKey$4.99, one listing for iPhone and MacNone mentionedApp Store purchaseNot stated
CupertinoClicks$4.99 one-timeNot statedNot statedNot stated
KachunkFree download; $4.99 once unlocks all 26 packsFree tier: Underwood 1938 and CreamEvery Mac you own30 days
Klakk$4.49 per platform direct; free on the App Store with $4.99 or $2.99 Full Version3 days (website editions)Per edition; a Mac license doesn't cover WindowsNot stated
TacqueFree; optional $1.99 tip (Setapp: from $4.99)Not neededNot applicableNot applicable
KeyClickerFree; $1.99 All Access LifetimeFree tierApp Store purchaseNot stated
KeyEchoFree app; packs $3.99 each or $9.99 for allNone for paid packs23; the app and 18 packs are freeOne key for Windows, macOS and Linux14 days, no reason required
MechvibesFree (MIT), every pack includedNot neededNo licenseNot applicable
Thock (open source)Free (MIT)Not neededNo licenseNot applicable
Keyboard Sounds ProFree (MIT)Not neededNo licenseNot applicable

Prices in US dollars before tax, from each app's own pricing page or US App Store listing on November 2, 2026. TapNoise's launch prices end by November 15, 2026; we'll recheck it then. Keyslam's checkout runs on Stripe (seller: Venture Deals, Co.); how the 7-day trial and license work.

Where the sounds come from

Keyslam didn't record its own sounds: its packs are cut from CC0 recordings by Freesound users _stubb, EricsSoundschmiede, Fractal_, grcekh, handygaber, IRF1010N, keithpeter, khenshom, knufds, majod, SamsterBirdies, secretmojo, stu556, Techrul, ujonathan and zrrion, each credited by name. Haptyk's and Clank Keys' sounds come from open-source libraries. This table uses each maker's own words about where its sounds come from.

AppWhere the sounds come fromWhat you get
KeyslamNamed boards, each cut from one credited CC0 Freesound typing recording (the typewriters add a recorded bell)13 keyboards and 2 typewriters, key-up sounds on the keyboards, custom packs
HaptykOpen-source libraries: “The recordings come from the Mechvibes and ClickClack open-source sound libraries (MIT licence)”2416 packs, key-up sounds
Clank Keys“Switch recordings from the Mechvibes project, MIT licence”25Mechvibes switch sets
TapNoiseIts notices page: for five themes, “The source files were generated with ElevenLabs”26; “8-bit and Laser are synthesised”2720 sounds (10 keyboards, 10 fun); no custom packs28
KlackRecorded: “Each switch set consist of over 100 audio files that need to be recorded and mastered individually”297 switch sets, key-up sounds, randomized pitch
Thock (App Store)“multi-sampled” Cherry MX and Gateron packs922 packs, key-down and key-up
Keeby“Recorded from real mechanical switches”3012 switch profiles, notch visualizer
TypeLouder“Real keyboard recordings”31; four packs have recorded key-ups, the rest derive one from the press328 packs
FunKey“premium sound profiles inspired by real mechanical keyboards”3325+ profiles
CupertinoClicksNot stated30 keyboard and mouse presets
KachunkNot statedUnderwood and Olivetti typewriters, 24 switch packs
KlakkNot stated14 packs
Tacque“Six synthesized sound packs”346 packs, per-key pitch variation
KeyClickerNot statedKeyboard and typewriter sounds
KeyEchoSampled per key: “each key has its own press and release”3571 packs (18 free)
MechvibesMade by its community985 pack pages on mechvibes.com, a pack editor
Thock (open source)Not statedBuilt-in, custom (JSON) and community packs
Keyboard Sounds ProNot stated20 profiles (13 keyboard, 7 mouse), custom profiles

Keyslam's packs, recordists and Freesound links: all 15 sound packs.

What goes online, and how it installs

AppWhat the app sends, in the maker's wordsHow it installs
KeyslamNothing: the app makes no network connections. The license key is Ed25519-signed and checked offline, and the trial date stays in your Keychain.Direct download, notarized by Apple
HaptykUsage statistics “when the app launches, every 5 minutes while running, and when you quit”36; the trial email is kept with a machine fingerprint37Notarized DMG from haptyk.com38
Clank Keys“the app contains no networking code”39GitHub, closed source; “signed by its maker, not notarised by Apple”40, so the first launch needs a Terminal command41
TapNoise“It goes online only to check your license with Dodo Payments, and once a day to look for an update.”42Direct; “signed by its maker but not notarized by Apple”43
Klack“No data or personal information is collected by Klack.”44Mac App Store, or a standalone that's sold separately: “Buying one does not unlock the other.”45
Thock (App Store)“The app itself does not collect, store, or transmit personal data.”46Mac App Store
KeebyApp Store label: Data Not Collected. The direct edition needs internet “for activation and periodic license checks”47Mac App Store, or direct (Polar)
TypeLouder“The app operates entirely offline”, with no network permission48Mac App Store
FunKeyApp Store label: Data Not CollectedApp Store
CupertinoClicksNot statedDirect download
Kachunk“zero telemetry”49, works offline50Notarized direct download, or the Mac App Store
Klakk“Activation and usage telemetry are separate network features described in the privacy policy. This is not a claim of zero network activity.”51Notarized DMG direct, or the Mac App Store
Tacque“nothing is recorded, stored, or sent anywhere”52Mac App Store, Setapp
KeyClickerApp Store label: Data Not CollectedMac App Store; newest version on GitHub
KeyEcho“The open-source app sends no usage analytics or crash reports.”53Notarized DMG or Homebrew
Mechvibes“one anonymous ping per launch”54 through Aptabase, which you can switch off, and a daily GitHub update checkExperimental Apple silicon DMG, “NOT notarized”55; permissions re-added after each update56; the Homebrew cask is disabled57
Thock (open source)Not statedHomebrew or GitHub
Keyboard Sounds ProNot statedUniversal DMG on GitHub

“Data Not Collected” is the developer's own answer on the App Store privacy label. Not notarized means macOS blocks the first launch until you allow it. Every keyboard sound app needs permission to see which keys you press; what Input Monitoring lets an app see.

Sources and quotes

Each note quotes the maker's page word for word and links an archive.org copy saved the same day, where archive.org could save one. All were checked on November 2, 2026 unless a note says otherwise.

  1. Haptyk, home page claim: “…where the sound follows how hard you press, thanks to the MacBook's accelerometer…” haptyk.com · archived copy
  2. Clank Keys, version: “released this 13 Sep 00:13 v1.3.0 88d1007 First public build.” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases/releases/tag/v1.3.0 · archived copy
  3. Haptyk, force: “Sound follows how hard you type ✓ 4 levels, soft to slam” haptyk.com/compare · archived copy
  4. Haptyk, incompatible Macs: “you will see an "Incompatible Mac" notice on launch before any email or payment” haptyk.com/klack-alternative · archived copy
  5. Clank Keys, price + force: “Reads the accelerometer hidden inside your MacBook and plays a real switch recording that matches how hard you hit the key. You pay nothing.” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  6. Clank Keys, no sensor: “Without it, sounds still play, varied by typing rhythm.” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  7. TapNoise, force: “It is an estimate from body movement, not a force sensor measuring each individual switch.” tapnoise.com/blog/macbook-typing-pressure-sounds · archived copy
  8. TapNoise, force hardware: “MacBook Pro with M1 Pro or M1 Max, and later MacBook Air with M2, and later” tapnoise.com/docs/system-requirements · archived copy
  9. Thock (Mac App Store, thock.pro), force: “Each pack is multi-sampled, velocity aware, and designed for long sessions.” thock.pro · archived copy
  10. Haptyk, sensor risk: “This interface is not officially supported by Apple and may change or become unavailable in future macOS updates.” haptyk.com/refund · archived copy
  11. Haptyk, incompatible Macs: “The M1 MacBook Air, the 13″ M1 MacBook Pro, Intel Macs and desktop Macs do not have it, and the app tells you at launch, before asking for an email.” haptyk.com · archived copy
  12. Mechvibes, Intel: “Intel Macs are not supported yet ( issue #128 ).” mechvibes.com/blog/mechvibes-not-working-mac · archived copy
  13. Clank Keys, requirements: “macOS 13 or later, Apple Silicon (M1 or newer)” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  14. Klack, macOS minimum: “Requires macOS 15.0 or later.” apps.apple.com/us/app/klack/id6446206067 · archived copy
  15. TypeLouder, macOS minimum: “Requires macOS 15.5 or later.” apps.apple.com/us/app/typelouder-keyboard-sounds/id6756606901 · archived copy
  16. Haptyk, trial: “The trial is activated by verifying your email address. After 3 days, sound playback is disabled until you purchase a Pro license. One trial per Mac, non-transferable.” haptyk.com/terms · archived copy
  17. Haptyk, trial: “we ask for your email address and a 6-digit verification code to confirm it” haptyk.com/privacy · archived copy
  18. Haptyk, refund (policy): “We offer a full refund within 14 days of purchase if: - The app does not function on your Mac due to a technical issue on our end - Your Mac does not have the required accelerometer sensor (and the trial did not warn you) - You accidentally purchased twice” haptyk.com/refund · archived copy
  19. Haptyk, refund (home page): “Full refund within 14 days, no questions asked.” haptyk.com · archived copy
  20. TapNoise, launch price: “The first 500 launch licenses are Solo US$5.99 and Duo US$7.99. The next 500 are Solo US$9.99 and Duo US$12.99. After those, or 14 days after launch day, whichever comes first, the regular prices apply.” tapnoise.com/pricing · archived copy
  21. TapNoise, trial history: “The 3-day free trial has been removed.” tapnoise.com/changelog · archived copy
  22. Klack, trial: “Can I try Klack before I buy it? No, you may however preview each switch on the landing page by clicking on their respective play buttons.” tryklack.com/faqs · archived copy
  23. KeyEcho, trial: “No subscription and no trial. 14-day refund.” keyecho.app/llms.txt · archived copy
  24. Haptyk, sound source: “The recordings come from the Mechvibes and ClickClack open-source sound libraries (MIT licence), credited in the app.” haptyk.com/keyboard-simulator · archived copy
  25. Clank Keys, sound source: “Switch recordings from the Mechvibes project, MIT licence” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  26. TapNoise, sound source (AI-generated): “Thock, Creamy, Clicky, Typewriter and Bubble, plus the shared slap and MacBook sounds: the lid chimes, hinge creak, and charger and USB sounds. The source files were generated with ElevenLabs.” tapnoise.com/notices · archived copy
  27. TapNoise, sound source (synthesized): “8-bit and Laser are synthesised by TapNoise.” tapnoise.com/notices · archived copy
  28. TapNoise, custom packs: “Your own sound packs Add sound packs you made yourself. No” tapnoise.com/compare · archived copy
  29. Klack, recordings: “Each switch set consist of over 100 audio files that need to be recorded and mastered individually.” tryklack.com/faqs · archived copy
  30. Keeby, recordings: “Recorded from real mechanical switches and processed with studio-grade audio” apps.apple.com/us/app/keeby/id6760791739 · archived copy
  31. TypeLouder, recordings: “Real keyboard recordings and thoughtful Mac-native controls” typelouder.app · archived copy
  32. TypeLouder, key-up sounds: “Key-up is now its own sound: four of the eight packs ship with real recorded releases, and the rest derive one from the press.” apps.apple.com/us/app/typelouder-keyboard-sounds/id6756606901 · archived copy
  33. FunKey, packs: “Explore over 25 premium sound profiles inspired by real mechanical keyboards” apps.apple.com/us/app/mechanical-keyboard-app-funkey/id6469420677 · archived copy
  34. Tacque, sound source: “Six synthesized sound packs, spatial sound, per-key pitch variation, in the menu bar.” luminoxe.com/tacque · archived copy
  35. KeyEcho, recordings: “Every pack is sampled per key; each key has its own press and release.” keyecho.app/llms-full.txt · archived copy
  36. Haptyk, telemetry: “This data is sent when the app launches, every 5 minutes while running, and when you quit.” haptyk.com/privacy · archived copy
  37. Haptyk, trial: “Your email is stored only on our server alongside a machine fingerprint and is never sold or shared.” haptyk.com/privacy · archived copy
  38. Haptyk, distribution: “haptyk.com (notarized DMG)” haptyk.com/compare · archived copy
  39. Clank Keys, network: “the app contains no networking code, so nothing can leave your Mac” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  40. Clank Keys, notarization: “The app is signed by its maker, not notarised by Apple, so the first launch is refused.” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  41. Clank Keys, install: “xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine” github.com/VishnuViez/clank-keys-releases · archived copy
  42. TapNoise, network: “It has no account, no analytics and no advertising. It goes online only to check your license with Dodo Payments, and once a day to look for an update.” tapnoise.com/privacy · archived copy
  43. TapNoise, notarization: “TapNoise is signed by its maker but not notarized by Apple.” tapnoise.com/docs/open-anyway · archived copy
  44. Klack, network: “No data or personal information is collected by Klack.” tryklack.com/faqs · archived copy
  45. Klack, standalone version: “Buying one does not unlock the other.” tryklack.com/faqs · archived copy
  46. Thock (Mac App Store, thock.pro), network: “The app itself does not collect, store, or transmit personal data. It runs entirely on your Mac.” thock.pro/privacy · archived copy
  47. Keeby, network: “An internet connection is required for activation and periodic license checks. A valid signed grant permits offline use for up to eight days” getkeeby.com · archived copy
  48. TypeLouder, network: “TypeLouder does not require network permissions. The app operates entirely offline” apps.apple.com/us/app/typelouder-keyboard-sounds/id6756606901 · archived copy
  49. Kachunk, macOS + network: “macOS 13+ · 6 MB, no dock icon · zero telemetry” getkachunk.com · archived copy
  50. Kachunk, refund + distribution: “Notarised by Apple · works offline · refund within 30 days · also on the Mac App Store” getkachunk.com · archived copy
  51. Klakk, network: “Activation and usage telemetry are separate network features described in the privacy policy. This is not a claim of zero network activity.” tryklakk.com/llms.txt · archived copy
  52. Tacque, network: “Keystrokes are detected only to play a sound; nothing is recorded, stored, or sent anywhere.” apps.apple.com/us/app/tacque-mechanical-keyboard/id6778518424 · archived copy
  53. KeyEcho, network: “The open-source app sends no usage analytics or crash reports.” keyecho.app/privacy · archived copy
  54. Mechvibes, telemetry: “Mechvibes sends one anonymous ping per launch to track rough usage.” github.com/hainguyents13/mechvibes · archive.org couldn't save a copy
  55. Mechvibes, notarization: “This build is produced by CI and has never been run on a real Mac by the maintainer. It carries only an ad-hoc signature and is NOT notarized.” github.com/hainguyents13/mechvibes/releases/download/v3.4.0/README-macos-3.4.0.txt · archive.org couldn't save a copy
  56. Mechvibes, permissions: “You have to remove and re-add both entries after replacing the app with a newer build” github.com/hainguyents13/mechvibes/releases/download/v3.4.0/README-macos-3.4.0.txt · archive.org couldn't save a copy
  57. Mechvibes, Homebrew: “mechvibes (disabled)” formulae.brew.sh/cask/mechvibes · archived copy

How we check, and what we've corrected

On November 2, 2026 we read each app's website, pricing, FAQ, privacy and refund pages, its Mac App Store listing, GitHub repo or update feed, and asked archive.org to save a copy of each page we quote (for a few pages it couldn't). Where a maker doesn't say something, the table says “Not stated” instead of guessing.

For the Mac App Store, we searched with 12 terms and read the description of every keyboard-sound listing that came back. None mentions an accelerometer, a motion sensor, velocity or typing force. (Thock's website, not its listing, calls its packs “velocity aware”.) Keyslam is a direct download, not an App Store app. We haven't tested whether Apple would approve an App Store version that reads the motion sensor, so we don't claim it couldn't be done.

We recheck all of them monthly, TapNoise after its launch pricing ends on November 15, 2026, and Haptyk after each release in its update feed. When something changes, it goes in this log.

DateTopicWhat we saidWhat's right
Who reads the sensorThis page said that, of the apps we checked, Keyslam and Haptyk use the MacBook motion sensor and TapNoise “advertises soft and hard responses”.Clank Keys, a free app first released on September 13, 2026, also reads the accelerometer. TapNoise's own blog calls its pressure feature an estimate from body movement, not a force sensor.
Lowest priceWe said Keyslam had the lowest price of the apps that advertise force-sensitive sound.Clank Keys is free. Of the two paid apps that read the sensor, Keyslam ($3.99) costs less than Haptyk ($8).
Mac App StoreOur FAQ claimed that App Store sandboxing stops apps reading the motion sensor.We hadn't verified that, so it's gone. What we did check: none of the Mac App Store keyboard-sound listings we read describes force sensing.
Keyslam's strengthsOur own row said each board had “4 strengths”, which read as four separate recordings.Each pack's strikes are cut from one real recording. They are sorted by natural loudness into soft, medium, hard and slam bands (slam is the hardest ~8%), and each band is leveled.
KlackWe listed Klack as running on “macOS”, with no trial “on the App Store”.The App Store version needs macOS 15. Klack has no trial at all; its FAQ points to previews on its site, a 14-day refund and up to 5 devices.
HaptykWe wrote that Haptyk's “anonymous usage counts leave the Mac”.Now quoted from its privacy policy: usage statistics go out at launch, every 5 minutes while it runs, and at quit.
MechvibesWe listed Mechvibes as a macOS, Windows and Linux app, with no caveats.The Mac build of Mechvibes 3 (v3.4.0) is experimental, Apple silicon only and not notarized.
CoverageThe table had 9 apps.It now has all the apps in our research, with Thock split into the App Store app and the unrelated open-source one.

Found something out of date or unfair? Send a correction. Makers of these apps are welcome to write in too.

Comparison questions

What is the best keyboard sound app for Mac?

It depends on your Mac. For sound that follows how hard you type: Keyslam ($3.99; macOS 13 or later, and it also runs on Macs without the sensor) or Haptyk ($8, MacBooks with the motion sensor only); Clank Keys does it free on Apple silicon MacBooks with the sensor, but isn't notarized. To buy on the Mac App Store: Klack ($4.99, macOS 15 or later). Free and open source: Mechvibes, Thock (open source) or Keyboard Sounds Pro, and KeyEcho is free with paid packs. We make Keyslam, so check the sources on this page.

Are Klack and Klakk the same app?

No. Klakk's own site says “Klakk (K-l-a-k-k) and Klack (K-l-a-c-k) are separate apps from different developers.” Klack is Henrik Ruscon's $4.99 Mac App Store app. Klakk sells $4.49 Mac and Windows editions on tryklakk.com, with a 3-day trial, and a free download with paid upgrades on the App Store.

Why isn't Keyslam on the Mac App Store?

Keyslam is sold directly from its own website, not through the Mac App Store. We haven't tested whether Apple would approve an App Store version that reads the MacBook motion sensor, so we don't claim it's impossible. None of the Mac App Store keyboard-sound listings we read on November 2, 2026 describes force sensing.

Which keyboard sound apps send data from my Mac?

Going by their own pages: Haptyk sends usage statistics at launch, every 5 minutes and at quit. Mechvibes sends one anonymous ping per launch (you can switch it off) and checks GitHub daily. Klakk has activation and usage telemetry. TapNoise goes online to check its license and once a day for updates, and Keeby's direct edition checks its license periodically. Clank Keys says it has no networking code, TypeLouder says it works entirely offline, and Keyslam makes no network connections.

How do you keep this comparison accurate?

We quote each maker's own page, save an archive.org copy where archive.org can make one, and recheck monthly: TapNoise after its launch pricing ends on November 15, 2026, Haptyk after each release. Every change goes in the corrections log on this page. If you spot an error, tell us.

Hear the boards before you choose.

Play all 15 Keyslam boards in your browser now. The Mac app is $3.99 once after a 7-day free trial.

Keep exploring