Mechvibes alternative
Mechvibes on a Mac: is it safe, and what's the alternative?
Mechvibes is free, open source and full of community sounds. Its Mac build is also experimental. Here's what it asks of your Mac, in its own words, and how Keyslam and Klack compare. Checked November 2, 2026.
Updated

Short answer: Mechvibes is a good free pick if you have an Apple silicon Mac and don't mind some setup. Version 3.4.0 (November 1, 2026) is free and MIT-licensed, with 985 community sound-pack pages on mechvibes.com. Its Mac build is marked experimental and isn't notarized by Apple. You have to re-grant two permissions after every update, and it sends one anonymous usage ping each time it launches unless you switch that off. If you want an app made only for the Mac that never goes online, runs on Intel Macs too and follows how hard you type on a MacBook, Keyslam costs $3.99 once after a 7-day free trial. It's available to download.
Mechvibes 3 on macOS, line by line
What Mechvibes says about its own Mac build, in its own words, and what each line means when you install it. Checked November 2, 2026.
| What we checked | What Mechvibes says | What it means on your Mac | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Version | Mechvibes 3, v3.4.0, released November 1, 2026. Written in Rust. | This is the current app. Mechvibes 2 (Electron) is no longer developed. | GitHub release v3.4.0 |
| Mac download | macOS Apple Silicon (experimental) Download dmg • v3.4.0 • 52.0 MB | There's no Intel build yet. Issue 128 says one is merged for the next release. | Mechvibes download page |
| Apple notarization | It carries only an ad-hoc signature and is NOT notarized. | macOS blocks the first launch. You approve it yourself in System Settings › Privacy & Security. | macOS README for v3.4.0 |
| Testing on a Mac | This build is produced by CI and has never been run on a real Mac by the maintainer. | Mac-only bugs can slip through. Reports on GitHub help. | macOS README for v3.4.0 |
| Permissions | Accessibility and Input Monitoring | Input Monitoring lets an app see your key presses. Accessibility is broader: it lets an app control your Mac. | macOS README for v3.4.0 |
| After each update | You have to remove and re-add both entries after replacing the app with a newer build | Every update means a trip to System Settings, or the sounds stop. | macOS README for v3.4.0 |
| Usage ping | Mechvibes sends one anonymous ping per launch to track rough usage.It runs through Aptabase. | You can switch it off in Mechvibes' Settings. | Mechvibes README on GitHub |
| Update check | Mechvibes also checks GitHub for a new version once a day. | One more connection out, once a day. | Mechvibes README on GitHub |
| Sound packs | 985 community pack pages, plus a pack editor | Lots of choice, all made by the community. | mechvibes.com sitemap |
| Installing packs | The Install in Mechvibes button in the library works on Windows and Linux. On a Mac, click Download zip on a pack's page | On a Mac, you download each pack as a ZIP and import it yourself. | Mechvibes' Mac troubleshooting post |
| Homebrew | The mechvibes cask (2.3.4) has been disabled since September 1, 2026: "disable_reason":"fails_gatekeeper_check" | brew install --cask mechvibes won't install it. Use the download page. | Homebrew cask data |
| Price | completely free to use, including all sound packs. It's open-source software released under the MIT License | Free, and you can read the code. | mechvibes.com |
Quotes are copied word for word from each source on November 2, 2026. Full links, with archived copies, are at the end of this page.
Is Mechvibes safe?
Mechvibes' code is public under the MIT license, so anyone can read what it does with your key presses. We didn't audit it. What's different on a Mac is how much of Apple's usual checking is missing, so here are three things to know before you give it access.
- Apple hasn't checked this build. It's ad-hoc signed and not notarized, so Gatekeeper can't vouch for the copy you download. Get it only from mechvibes.com/download or the GitHub releases page, never from a mirror.
- It asks for two permissions. Input Monitoring lets an app see your keyboard, mouse and trackpad
even when you’re using other apps
(Apple). Accessibility lets an app control your Mac through accessibility features (Apple), which reaches further. A keyboard sound app needs at least the first. - It goes online. Its README describes one anonymous Aptabase ping per launch
to track rough usage
, which you can switch off in Settings, plus a daily update check on GitHub.
If those trade-offs are fine with you, Mechvibes is a reasonable free choice. To test any keyboard sound app yourself, with a firewall, in a few minutes, see is Input Monitoring safe on a Mac.
For comparison, Keyslam asks for Input Monitoring only. Its key tap is listen-only, so it can't change or block a keystroke. It makes no network connections; the license key is Ed25519-signed and checked on your Mac. Its download is Developer ID-signed and notarized by Apple.
Mechvibes vs Klack vs Keyslam
| Mechvibes 3.4.0 | Klack | Keyslam | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free (MIT open source) | $4.99 on the Mac App Store; tryklack.com also sells a separate standalone version | $3.99 once, lifetime |
| Free trial | Not needed, it's free | None; you can preview each switch on its website | 7 days, no account or card |
| Where you get it | mechvibes.com or GitHub | Mac App Store, or a separate standalone version from tryklack.com | Direct download (live) |
| Apple's check | Not notarized (ad-hoc signed) | App Store version reviewed by Apple | Developer ID-signed and notarized by Apple |
| macOS | Apple silicon only for now (experimental) | macOS 15.0 or later (App Store version) | macOS 13 Ventura or later, Apple silicon or Intel |
| Also runs on | Windows and Linux | Mac only | Mac only |
| Sounds | 985 community packs and a pack editor | 7 recorded switch sets, with key-up sounds and spatial audio | 15 real keyboards and typewriters from CC0 recordings, four strength bands each, plus your own packs |
| Follows how hard you type | Not advertised | Not advertised | Yes, on MacBooks with the motion sensor |
| Goes online | One anonymous ping per launch (can be switched off), daily update check | Its FAQ: No data or personal information is collected by Klack.App Store label: Data Not Collected | Never. The license is verified offline |
| On/off shortcut | Not stated in the sources we checked | Yes, since version 1.2 | ⌃⌥⌘K by default (changeable) |
| Goes quiet by itself | Not stated in the sources we checked | Sleep triggers for screen sharing, Focus, media and calendar | While any app is using the microphone, such as on a call |
| One purchase covers | No license needed | Up to 5 devices | All the Macs you own |
| Refund | Not applicable | 14 days; App Store refunds go through Apple | 14 days |
Mechvibes and Klack details from their own sites, READMEs and App Store listing, checked November 2, 2026: Mechvibes download page, macOS README for v3.4.0, Klack FAQ, Klack changelog, Klack on the Mac App Store, tryklack.com. Keyslam details from our fact sheet and the app source code.
Mechvibes or Klack: which one fits?
- Pick Mechvibes if you want it free, if you also type on Windows or Linux, or if you want a huge choice of community packs and an editor to make your own. You'll need an Apple silicon Mac for now, and a few minutes in System Settings after each update.
- Pick Klack if you're on macOS 15 or later and want to buy, install and update through the Mac App Store. It has 7 recorded switch sets and a shortcut to turn it on and off. Note that the App Store and tryklack.com versions are sold separately: buying one doesn't unlock the other.
- Pick Keyslam if you want the sound to change with how hard you type on a MacBook, if you're on an Intel Mac or on macOS 13 or 14, or if you want an app that makes no network connections at all, with no launch ping or update check.
How is Keyslam different from Mechvibes?
Fewer sounds, more done to each one. Keyslam has 15 packs to Mechvibes' 985. Each one's keystrikes come from a single real typing recording released as CC0 on Freesound (the typewriters add a second recording for the bell). Every strike is detected and paired with its key-up, then the strikes are sorted by natural loudness into four bands: soft, medium, hard and slam, the hardest ~8%. Each band is leveled, and every pack is set to the same loudness (−28 LUFS), so switching packs changes the tone, not the volume. 13 of the 15 packs have key-up sounds.
It feels how hard you type. On MacBook Pro with M1 Pro or M1 Max and later, and on MacBook Air and MacBook Pro with M2 and later, Keyslam reads the built-in motion sensor about 800 times a second and picks real strikes from the matching band. On other Macs you pick the strength.
It's made only for the Mac. It's written in Swift with a C audio core and a buffer of about 5 ms, and it needs macOS 13 Ventura or later on Apple silicon or Intel. After 3 idle minutes the audio and the motion sensor switch off.
Your own sounds work too, in a different format. Keyslam loads WAV, AIFF or FLAC files listed in a small pack.json. Mechvibes packs don't load directly; the pack format and how to convert one are on the sounds page.
When Mechvibes is the better choice
Mechvibes costs nothing, its code is open, and its library is many times bigger than Keyslam's. If you use Windows or Linux as well as a Mac, it's the same app on all three. If you love tinkering with packs, its editor is built for that. Keyslam can't match any of those. It's a paid app that runs on Macs alone, with a small, curated set of boards.
Already using Mechvibes and it's acting up? Fixes for Mechvibes not working on a Mac cover the Gatekeeper prompt, lost permissions, no sound and pack ZIPs.
Mechvibes questions
Can I turn off Mechvibes' usage ping?
Yes. Its README says the one anonymous ping per launch is handled by Aptabase and can be switched off in Settings. Mechvibes still checks GitHub for a new version once a day. Source: the Mechvibes README.
Should I still use Mechvibes 2 on a Mac?
Probably not. Mechvibes' download page says Using Mechvibes 2? It is no longer developed.
Its Electron repo was archived on October 30, 2026, and the Homebrew cask (2.3.4) was disabled on September 1, 2026 because it fails Homebrew's Gatekeeper check. Mechvibes 3 is the current app.
Does Keyslam need Accessibility permission like Mechvibes?
No. Keyslam asks for Input Monitoring only, which is enough to know which key went down. It doesn't ask for Accessibility, the microphone or Full Disk Access, and it never stores or sends what you type.
How many sound packs does Mechvibes have?
We counted 985 pack pages in the mechvibes.com sitemap on November 2, 2026. They're made by the community, and the site says all of them are free.
Sources
- mechvibes.com (archived), checked
- Mechvibes download page (archived), checked
- GitHub release v3.4.0 (archived), checked
- macOS README for v3.4.0, checked
- Mechvibes README on GitHub, checked
- GitHub issue 128, checked
- Mechvibes' Mac troubleshooting post (archived), checked
- mechvibes.com sitemap (archived), checked
- Mechvibes 2 (Electron) repo (archived), checked
- Homebrew cask data (archived), checked
- Klack FAQ (archived), checked
- Klack changelog (archived), checked
- Klack on the Mac App Store (archived), checked
- tryklack.com (archived), checked
Spot something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it and note the change.
Keep exploring
A native Mac app, $3.99 once.
15 real boards, force sensing on MacBooks, no network connections. 7-day free trial.